Editorial Team

Editors in Chief

  • James Beresford

    James Beresford is an ESRC +3 funded PHD candidate in the School of Sociology and Social Policy at the University of Leeds. Working at the intersection of Sociology and Social Policy, James’s research develops a relational approach to the assembling and narration of the 2010 UK Equality Act, looking how its becoming was enacted through different affects and practices of remembering and forgetting. His research interests include; narrative and narrative methodologies; policy making; emotions and affects; ethnography; memory; the governance and governmentalities of ‘equality’.

  • Alankaar Sharma

    Alankaar Sharma is a social work educator, researcher, practitioner, and doctoral candidate, working in the fields of sexual and gender-based violence, gender and sexuality, men and masculinities, and child abuse and protection. He has worked in India on issues such as child sexual abuse, children’s rights, and violence against women, and co-founded an NGO working to prevent and address Child Sexual Abuse. He has worked in the USA as social work educator and researcher at two universities. He has published academic papers and non-academic articles in peer-reviewed journals, edited books, magazines, websites, and newspapers, besides consulting with multiple civil society organizations on resource development, and professional and organizational capacity building. He is particularly interested in phenomenological qualitative research methods.

Design & Layout

  • Boka En

    Boka En is currently studying at the Department of Science and Technology Studies at the University of Vienna. Their interests are fluid and ephemeral, but currently gravitate around issues of power, knowledges and authorities, and processes of inclusion and exclusion as well as (self-)categorisation.

Web Editor

  • Michael En

    Michael En has studied Transcultural Communication at the Centre for Translation Studies in Vienna and Critical Sociolinguistics at Goldsmiths College in London. He is currently working on his PhD at the University of Vienna, on hegemonic ideas of ‘nativeness’ and their effects on the (self-)perception of language users via stereotype threat. He is further interested in the many ways of identity construction discourses on socially marginalised groups. Maybe relatedly, he sighs a lot.

Copy Editors

  • Kamalika Jayathilaka

    Kamalika Jayathilaka is a PhD student from the School of Sociology and Social Policy at the University of Leeds. Previously a travel writer from Sri Lanka, Kamalika’s research is inspired by a retrospective understanding of the critical role of the travel writer in endorsing/marketing particular preferred, ideological, socio-cultural ‘constructs’ of places and countries. Her current research interests in general therefore, span across appreciating tourism’s countless imaginaries and its powerful role as a ‘worldmaking’ agency.

  • Laura Clancy

    Laura Clancy is a joint AHRC and ESRC funded PhD student at Lancaster University. Her research combines Sociology, Media and Cultural studies and contemporary History to undertake a cultural history of the contemporary British monarchy, and is concerned with the ways in which it is represented in media culture, and the cultural meanings and ideologies circulating through monarchical imaginaries. Using the work of Stuart Hall and British Cultural Studies, the research explores how discourses of classed power in Britain are manifest in the (re)production and (re)appropriation of images of the royal institution. This work is underpinned by recent sociological research on ‘the elites’ and widening inequalities in Britain and beyond.

Past Board Members

  • Arpita Das
  • Remi Joseph-Salisbury
  • Louise Rigby
  • Rosemary Deller (2011–2013)
  • Alexa Athelstan (2011–2013)
  • Robert Kulpa (2008–2013)
  • Melissa Kelly (2011–2013)
  • Amanda Conroy (2012–2013)
  • Melissa Fernandez (2009–2011)
  • Gwendolyn Beetham (2009–2011)
  • Richard Bramwell (2008–2010)
  • Kathrine Harrison (2008–2010)
  • Mia Liinason (2007–2009)
  • Andre van Dokkum
  • Ward Rennen, Maria Oleynik
  • Jeff Roberts
  • Greg Mounier
  • Maud Radstake
  • Wouter-Jan Oosten
  • Iris van der Tuin (2004–2008)
  • Sabina Leonelli (2003–2007)
  • Esther Foreman (2001–2003)
  • Martijn Wit (2002–2004)
  • Kikula Kobatake (2003–2004)
  • Garrett Brown (2003)
  • James Raiher (2003–2004)
  • Marcel Scheele (2004–2005)